July: Looking back, looking ahead.

Iconic Seattle view, my old Seattle apartment, beloved Seattle friends.

Iconic Seattle view, my old Seattle apartment, beloved Seattle friends.

I am absolutely crazy about these girls...

I am absolutely crazy about these girls…

I returned from my Pacific Northwest mini-tour late on Saturday, and have had just a couple of days in which to frantically catch up on emails, eat some Jewish soul food, and pack another bag.  The gals of DUCHESS and I are planning to motor west, as the song goes: tomorrow, we board a flight to Tulsa and hit the historic “highway that’s the best” as part of Rifftime’s Route 66 Linear Music Festival.  It’s going to be a lot of fun, and the perfect capper to a whirlwind month of travel, music, and friends.

Returning to my old stomping grounds of Seattle was soul-satisfying in the best possible ways: I reunited with loved ones, finally met some cyber-friends face-to-face, played to a full house at the club where I sang jazz for the first time, took the stage at my alma mater’s gorgeous outdoor amphitheater, and performed barefoot in a Portland garden at twilight for a small but delightful audience.  Oh, and I ate pâté at my beloved Le Pichet and sipped sparkling rosé at David Butler’s Le Caviste.  It really couldn’t have been more wonderful.

This little photographic travelogue is evidence that, in fact, you can go home again.  My heart is very full, and I send heartfelt thanks to everyone who made my return to the Pacific Northwest so magical.

In July, I…
Blogged about: Gigging in Las Vegas & LA.  Singer-Friend Janis Siegel.  Tomatoes, ripe & sweet.

Watched: Divergent.  I saw this film on the plane…Delta, you rocked my world with the on-demand programming on those cross-country flights!

Read: Mockingjay, by Suzanne Collins.  Between the Hunger Games trilogy and my in-flight viewing, it seems I have a bit of a fondness for dystopian dramas helmed by a feisty female lead character.  I cannot wait to see this movie.

Listened to: DUCHESS mixes!  Our debut album has been mixed, mastered, and will be released in early 2015.  We can’t wait for you to check out our girl-on-girl harmony!  In the meantime, keep up with our Route 66 hijinks on Rifftime’s Route 66 Linear Music Festival Facebook Page, as well as Duchess’ own Instagram and Twitter feeds.

Singing at Tula's, where I did some of my first gigs ever.  Bottom right: Reunited with Aaron & Leo, my first bandmates.

Singing at Tula’s, where I did some of my first gigs ever. Bottom right: Reunited with Aaron & Leo, my first bandmates.

A Seattle nightclub, a Tacoma amphitheater, and a Portland garden...3 beautiful gigs.

A Seattle nightclub, a Tacoma amphitheater, and a Portland garden…3 beautiful gigs.

Mt. Rainier even came out to say goodbye...until next time, Seattle!

Mt. Rainier even came out to say goodbye…until next time, Seattle!

One thought on “July: Looking back, looking ahead.

  1. Dearest Songbird,
    I am happy for you because you are doing what you were born for: Singing, singing, singing. I am certain that soon I will have the pleasure to hear you sing in New York.

Leave a Reply

