Welcome back!

I’ve missed you.  It’s been a while.  Too long.  As I recover from a minor but frustrating recent bout of vocal un-health (a spate of hoarseness brought on by allergies and good old “singing-too-damn-much” syndrome), I’ve had to keep silent for days on end.  Prolonged silence gives a girl time to think, and over the past few weeks some uncomfortable realities have floated to the surface of my psyche.

To wit: writers write, and I haven’t been.  Writing, that is.

There’s also the fact that I’ve felt disconnected from my creativity and physicality lately, and too overwhelmed to do anything but fixate in uneasy wonder on my inertia.  Having lost a dear friend just a year ago to a swift and brutal illness, I am feeling strongly the need to celebrate and inhabit life more fully, but instead, a nondescript sort of paralysis seems to have taken hold.

Don’t get me wrong; there’s a lot of wonderful stuff on the horizon.  For one thing, my debut album, The Great City, has found a home on a great label and will be officially released before the end of the year, probably this fall.  In the meantime, this summer’s gigs will take me to North Carolina, Las Vegas, Los Angeles, Seattle, the Oklahoma leg of historic Route 66, and rural Pennsylvania.  I’ll be guesting with a symphony, fronting a big band, bringing my best straight-tone to an Anglican choir and singing as one-third of a 1930s-inspired vocal trio called DUCHESS.  It’s going to be a busy time, and I’m looking forward to all of it.

GoyGoneWildThe thing is, though, I don’t just want to be busy.  I want to find more joy in the everyday, whether I’m puttering in the kitchen, teetering precariously in a yoga pose, chatting with a friend over a pot of tea, or warming up my voice before a practice session.  Writing, for me, has always had a way of creating momentum and focus, and so I suppose that the revitalization of this blog is an attempt to light a proverbial fire under my tuchis.

In the coming weeks, I’ll introduce a “Spotlight On…” interview series with some smart, funny musical friends and colleagues; I have no doubt that their wisdom and insights will prove inspiring.  Foodie Tuesdays will return.  There will also, in all likelihood, be talk of yoga, the subway, life in the city, life in the country, travels near and far, and there will definitely be posts about the aforementioned musical happenings.  I hope you’ll check in from time to time and perhaps even share your thoughts in the comments.  Ad Alta Voce means “out loud,” after all, so let’s raise our voices, shall we?

Thanks so much for stopping by.  Happy reading, and happy summer!

16 thoughts on “Welcome back!

  1. Hi Hilary, I’ve been following you on Facebook since you sang so beautifully in Rochester about two years ago, I think. I love your album, The Great City. I’ll be visiting NYC this summer and I really hope to hear you sing. I’ve planned a 5 day visit, keeping Tuesday night July 29 free to hear you with the George Gee Orchestra (your regular gig, right?). Keeping fingers crossed that you’ll be performing that night! Debbie 🙂

    • Hi Debra! It’s great to hear from you. I am sorry to say that I am not going to be in town on July 29. I’ll be doing the 1st of three shows along historic Route 66 with the wonderful ladies of DUCHESS. I’m very bummed to miss seeing you & I hope it works out another time! Thanks so much for stopping by my blog!

  2. So good to hear the writer’s voice in you and not only your lovely musical one. Yes, for whatever reasons, inertia can often be unassailable. Once overcome though, creating is that much sweeter and oh so good with pent-up quality.

  3. Hi, Hilary–thank you for resuming your blog writing! I always enjoyed reading –in fact, was just looking for a new post last week! I’ve got a group of Alaska Children’s Choir singers who will be touring Cape Cod, Pennsylvania and NYC–we leave this Friday and will be in NYC, doing a Carnegie Hall festival weekend of June 13-15. I’ll check your website to see if you’re doing any performances–would love to see you! lots of love to you, Janet

    • Hi Janet! Thank you for reading! I’m not singing those dates but would love to come and hear the kids or at least grab a cup of coffee with you while you’re here! xoxo

  4. I also heard you in Rochester many month ago and long to be in your audience again! So glad you’re back and wish you much success in your upcoming tour! I’ll be following your blog and hope to catch you sometime, someplace! You are a wonderful talented singer!

  5. Dearest Hilary, I discovered your luminous self at the Bronx Botanical Garden. You dedicated your CD to my dear friend. It was her birthday but, just like most working wounded, she was at home gathering the pieces of herself. Your lovely voice fills up her home often. She tells me that you are her favorite singer. We are looking forward to one of your performances in New York. I want to bring you my most recent poetry book. I will be checking your website. I must tell you how pleased I am because you are singing and writing again. You are a great artist.

Leave a Reply

