Busy-ness & Boogaloo

Transforming a creative passion into a full-fledged, money-making career can muddy the artistic waters, so to speak. Our childlike enthusiasm can get lost in the day-to-day hustle of making ends meet.

When I was a kid, I’d spend hours in my room singing along to records by Ella Fitzgerald, Joni Mitchell, and Patsy Cline. Today, I am harried, annoyed at being a little hoarse, and dashing madly between musical obligations.

Today, of all days, I could use a reminder of the unbridled enthusiasm that propelled me toward a career in music in the first place. I could also use a great YouTube video that would save me from having to write a lengthy, eloquent blog post today, which I simply don’t have time to do. Oh, look! Here’s one:

5 thoughts on “Busy-ness & Boogaloo

  1. first of all, i just got home from an 11 hour workday and that video is simply awesome and just what i needed!

    second, yes – it is definitely important to recall and foster childlike enthusiasm but also remember that when we were kids, we had three months of vacation and didn’t have to worry about making rent. thank goodness you gave yourself the gift of those many hours singing along with the greats, so you recognize how precious that time was – and is.

    you do an amazing job of keeping in touch with your music. we all have days, or months (esp. in nyc) of feeling worn out by everything but that which we’d rather be doing. but if you still have music, and create & interpret it as well as you do, you gotta give yourself a certain amount of kudos.

    have a good weekend!

  2. I stumbled on your blog randomly searching for “opera singer cartoons”. I too am a classically trained singer, in my last year of my undergraduate study. I find your blog very insightful and humorous! As for your latest post, I was just thinking earlier this week how easy it is to become discouraged with day to day life. I love to sit back and listen to music that inspires me!

    • Thank you, Karen! I’m so glad you happened on my little musings, here. (-: I agree wholeheartedly with you: when I lose touch with that sense of carefree excitement, listening to some music is always a good thing! Ella Fitzgerald’s “Cole Porter Songbook” was like my musical bible as a kid, and whenever I hear it now, I remember the magic of discovering Ella & those wonderful songs. Thank you so much for reading & writing! p.s. Are you related to the opera singer Christine Jepsen? I heard her in “Idomeneo” at the Met a few years ago and she was unbelievable. She was the only one really singing Mozart. I mean, it’s one thing to sing classically…but singing Mozart is an art unto itself, you know?

Leave a Reply

