La donna e’ mobile, cambia col vento, or: It’s my mind, and I’ll change it if I want to

guarnaccia_busy_busy1Beginning first thing yesterday morning, I was inundated with phone calls to return, emails to send, errands to run, and songs to practice. So it’s not surprising that, by the time I took the stage at my gig last night, I felt like I’d been digging a ditch all day. My body and voice were exhausted, and my concentration was shot.

Yesterday’s post concluded with the revelation that, if I’m going to accomplish anything at all as a musician or a writer, I have to start taking better care of myself as a human being. Knowing that productivity is impossible without adequate self care is hardly an earth-shattering epiphany. Yet actually writing the words I need to be much more territorial about my time forced me to take a long, hard look at my scheduling habits and make some changes.

I set out to write a blog post daily, yet I’m finding that, in the process, I’ve been neglecting my music and some other responsibilities. So to that end, I have changed my mind about writing a new post every single day. I’ll be writing on Tuesdays and Fridays from here on out. Of course, the Type A voice in my head is telling me I’ve failed completely as a neophyte-blogger, but I’ve stumbled upon a quote by Edward de Bono that makes me feel a little better:

Buddha+Of+Compassion

If you never change your mind, why have one?

In other words, why should I stubbornly cling to my original plan of a daily blog entry when I can scale back and have room for writing and music?

Yet again, the same lessons have presented themselves: Balance. Focus. Gentleness. Patience. Equanimity.

See you Friday.

2 thoughts on “La donna e’ mobile, cambia col vento, or: It’s my mind, and I’ll change it if I want to

Leave a Reply

