Words & Music #8

The seven days I waited to die were strung like glass beads catching light in a window about to be flung up.  I watched the free, endless air, and phrases and scenes from the book reopened.  Like Prince Andrei flat on his back dying in battle when, for the first time, he sees with his entire self the blue and white of the sky, the open dome over this scrap of earth.

Two characters speak of preexistence and eternity.  If they are immortal spirits, they also existed before they were born.  All is one, past, present, future, and good.

That I was young didn’t matter.  I’d had what I wanted, dancing and George.  My dreams healed.  Each night I danced beautifully again, I was the leader of the Bacchantes, killing Orpheus with my powerful legs once more.

–Varley O’Connor, The Master’s Muse

2 thoughts on “Words & Music #8

  1. Dear Hilary…Yes! I also believe that all immortal spirits existed before they were born. William Wordsworth wrote: “The soul that rises with us, our life’s star, hath had elsewhere its setting, and cometh from afar.” (Intimations of Immortality, 5th stanza) Have a great tour in LV.
    Carmen D. Lucca

    • Jackson Browne’s “For a Dancer” is a very important song in my life…I loved the juxtaposition of the song with the poignancy of this passage from a fictionalized book about Tanaquil Le Clercque. Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

